The Elephant in the Room

Hi there!!! I know. Another post already. What is this, a High School writing project? Anyway, there something that’s always been true about me and that’s I am me 100% of the time. I make no apologies for being true to the person I am. So with that being said, lets just put it out there. I am gay. I know! Shocker, right?

Anyway, I titled this post “The Elephant in the Room” because it amuses me how people approach me when they want to ask if I’m gay or straight, as if it matters. They will typically ask me in a hushed tone or privately, as if not to announce my gayness to anyone who may be dropping eaves nearby. “Yes. I am gay,” I always say, with no discretion at all. I always quietly giggle at those who recoil, or look around at the others nearby and then look at me like I am crazy for being so bold as to make such an announcement so loudly. I understand there are people out there that may not be as open, and that’s fine too. For me though, I don’t see any reason to shy away from it.

Being gay does come with its own troubles. Stereotypes are lost on me for the most part. Yes, I am gay, but no I don’t think women are gross. I don’t think that it’s wrong to experiment with your sexuality, as long as it’s in a safe and respectful manner. Sexuality is fluid, therefore I do not entertain the “once gay, always gay” mindset. And, I certainly don’t agree with the notion that just because a person is gay, they must be promiscuous. Granted, a large majority of the gay population is, but it’s just not to the extent people make it out to be. Just because someone is gay does not mean they have diseases, are HIV+, a pedophile, incapable of monogamy, or anything else those close-minded, hateful people of the world would like to lump us into a category with. Just because I am gay does not mean I do drag or desire to be a woman, although drag queens and our Transgender brothers and sisters are beautiful as well.

In short, homosexuality doesn’t define a person. There is no gay mold. I know gay gamers, gay doctors, gay engineers, and gay police officers. We have gay men and women serving in our military, teaching in our schools, and building our nations infrastructure. Some people even voted for gay politicians. So, understand when you see images of Pride Parades or other LGBTQ themed events, that its not a celebration of the stereotypes that have been predetermined by society. It’s a celebration of how far we have come since being forced to spent our lives in closets.

The simple fact of the matter is, gay people are everywhere. Our influence is everywhere. Elephants don’t belong locked behind walls, even one fabulous enough to wear rainbow colored skin.

 

 

Leave a Reply

